Jischke selected as 2003 commencement speaker

Wed, 2012-07-25 09:28 -- univcomm

Anderson University recently announced that Dr. Martin C. Jischke, president of Purdue University, will address the graduating class of 2003 during commencement exercises, May 10. The 3 p.m. program will be held in Warner Auditorium followed by a presidential reception in the breezeway area of the Krannert Fine Arts complex. Speaking at the baccalaureate service will be Dr. James W. Lewis, AU associate professor of Christian Ethics. Anderson University’s baccalaureate service will take place earlier that day in Reardon Auditorium at 10 a.m. Both events are open to the public.

Earlier campus events connected with Anderson University’s commencement weekend are the School of Theology Senior Recognition and Awards Chapel on Tuesday, April 29, at 11 a.m. in Miller Chapel. Also scheduled is the traditional School of Nursing Pinning Ceremony on Friday, May 9, at 6 p.m. in Byrum Hall.

Related events scheduled on Anderson University’s May 10 commencement day include the Hooding Ceremony for the School of Education at 11:30 a.m. in Miller Chapel and the Hooding Ceremony for the Falls School of Business at 12:30 p.m. in Byrum Hall.

Dr. Martin C. Jischke is Purdue University’s 10th president. When he was inaugurated on August 2000, he brought with him decades of experience in higher education. Jischke served as chancellor of the University of Missouri-Rolla from 1986 to 1991, and his success in that role led him to the presidency of Iowa State University. Purdue University is a land-grant institution with an emphases on engineering, science, agriculture, extension, and veterinary medicine.

Jischke’s leadership extends to national and international higher-education organizations. He was the founding president of the Global Consortium of Higher Education and Research for Agriculture. He served as chairman and board member of the National Association of State Universities and Land-Grant Colleges and as a board member of the American Council on Education, National Merit Scholarship Corporation, and Kellogg Commission on the Future of State and Land-Grant Universities. He is on the boards of directors of the Association of American Universities and the American Council on Competitiveness.

Jischke has given more than 50 major technical presentations and lectures. He has held research fellowships with NASA and the Donald W. Douglas Laboratory and has received research grants from the National Science Foundation, U.S. Air Force, NASA, National Institutes of Health, National Severe Storms Laboratory, and Nuclear Regulatory Commission. During 1975-76, he served as a White House fellow and special assistant to the U.S. secretary of transportation.

Jischke is a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science and the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics. He is a recipient of the Centennial Medallion of the American Society for Engineering Education. The Illinois Institute of Technology and the National Agricultural University of Ukraine have awarded him honorary doctoral degrees. He has also received the Illinois Institute of Technology Professional Achievement Award and the Ukraine Medal of Merit from that nation's president for outstanding service by a foreign national.

After receiving his doctoral degree in aeronautics and astronautics from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology in 1968, Jischke joined the faculty of the University of Oklahoma’s School of Aerospace, Mechanical, and Nuclear Engineering. During his 17 years at Oklahoma, he served in multiple capacities. He became director of the School of Aerospace, Mechanical, and Nuclear Engineering in 1977. He was the principal advisor to 21 thesis students. He served as dean of the College of Engineering from 1981 to 1986. Finally, he was named interim president of the university in 1985.

Anderson University is a private, four-year, Christian liberal arts institution of approximately 2,500 undergraduate and graduate students. Established in 1917 by the Church of God the university offers more than 60 undergraduate majors and graduate programs of study in theology, business and education.