AU honors four during commencement

Wed, 2012-07-25 09:45 -- univcomm
Anderson University will honor four distinguished persons with honorary degrees during commencement exercises, Saturday, May 10. Persons being honored include beloved Church of God ministers, Dondeena and Maurice Caldwell; longtime AU trustee chair and Indianapolis public relations professional, Louis E. Gerig; and Purdue University president and AU 2003 commencement speaker, Dr. Martin C. Jischke. The 3 p.m. program will be held in Warner Auditorium followed by a presidential reception in the breezeway area of the Krannert Fine Arts complex. Speaking at the baccalaureate service will be Dr. James W. Lewis, AU associate professor of Christian Ethics. Anderson University’s baccalaureate service will take place earlier that day in Reardon Auditorium at 10 a.m. Both events are open to the public.

Receiving honorary degrees during commencement will be:

Dondeena J. Caldwell
Dondeena J. Caldwell has completed more than six decades of committed service as a teacher, author and partner in ministry to the Church of God, bringing support and hope to thousands of women, men and children of both North and South America. An alumna of Anderson University, she served as director of mission’s education for the Church of God and editor of Missions Magazine. She helped establish schools in Brazil while building bridges of support and understanding between numerous cultures. She is greatly admired for her inspiring weekly newspaper column in the Anderson Herald-Bulletin and her support of peace and justice study courses at Anderson University. Dondeena Caldwell will receive the Honorary Doctor of Divinity.

Mack Maurice Caldwell
Mack Maurice Caldwell, Jr., has spent his adult life in Christian ministry. A native of Leavenworth, Kansas, the Rev. Caldwell was ordained by the Church of God. An alumnus of Drew University, he provided national leadership to the Church of God, serving as secretary of the department of home missions and director for Latin America for the Missionary Board. He served with distinction on the Anderson University Board of Trustees and taught in the University’s foreign language department. Partnering with his wife, Dondeena, he has led 33 University student groups through the international service and learning program, Tri-S. Mack Maurice Caldwell Jr. will receive the Honorary Doctor of Divinity.

Louis (Lou) E. Gerig
Louis (Lou) E. Gerig has provided a lifetime of service and leadership at both the federal and state levels of government. His wise and insightful counsel has been sought by leaders at the highest levels of corporate and academic governance. An alumnus of Anderson University, he served as a teacher, journalist and public relations professional before being selected to Indiana U.S. Senator Richard G. Lugar as his press secretary. After a number of years of significant service, he was selected to be a member of President Reagan’s administration, serving as assistant to White House Secretary James Brady, where he was in charge of all non-Washington press corps. Returning to his home state in 1987, he became president of Sease, Gerig and Associates, one of the leading public relations firms in the state and Midwest. He has recently completed 15 years of outstanding leadership on the Anderson University Board of Trustees — eight years as chairman of the board. Louis E. Gerig will receive the Honorary Doctor of Laws.

Dr. Martin C. Jischke
Dr. Martin C. Jischke is president of Purdue University, one of this nation’s great universities. Inaugurated in 2000, President Jischke brings decades of experience in higher education, having served as president of Iowa State University and Chancellor of the University of Missouri. Earning his doctoral degree in aeronautics and astronautics from Massachusetts Institute of Technology, he is founding president of The Global Consortium of Higher Education and Research for Agriculture. President Jischke has strengthened the Purdue-Anderson University partnership and is committed to finding mutual strengths to help advance the future of the Anderson community and other communities throughout Indiana. Dr. Marting Jischke will receive the Honorary Doctor of Humane Letters.

Anderson University is a private, four-year, Christian liberal arts institution of approximately 2,500 undergraduate and graduate students. Established in 1917 by the Church of God, the university offers more than 60 undergraduate majors and graduate programs of study in business, education and theology.