Skip to main content

Anderson University

Anderson, Indiana

Anderson University

Anderson, Indiana

Quick Links
Main Menu Home

School of Theology

School of Theology Faculty

President John S. Pistole, president of Anderson University

John S. Pistole
President of Anderson University
B.A., Anderson University
J.D., Indiana University Robert H. McKinney




James W. Lewis, dean

James W. Lewis
Dean, School of Theology;
Professor of Theology and Ethics

B.S., M.B.A., Texas A&M University
professional studies, Northwestern University
M.Div. studies, Southwestern Baptist Theological Seminary
Ph.D., Duke University
Read more about Dr. Lewis

Gary B. Agee, professor

Gary B. Agee
Associate Professor of Church History
B.S., Miami University
M.A., Xavier University
Ph.D., University of Dayton
Read more about Dr. Agee


Guy Brewer, professor

Guy Brewer
Dean of Chapel; Professor of Pastoral Theology
B.S., Vanderbilt University
M.Div., Emory University
D.Min., Asbury Theological Seminary
Ph.D., Graduate Theological Foundation with studies at Oxford University, UK
Read more about Dr. Brewer


Fredrick W. Burnett, chair of the Department of Religious Studies

Fredrick W. Burnett
Chair, Department of Religious Studies; Professor of Religion
B.A., Anderson University
M.Div. Anderson University School of Theology
D.Min., Ph.D., Vanderbilt University
Read more about Dr. Burnett


MaryAnn Hawkins, Director of the Doctor of Ministry program

MaryAnn Hawkins
Associate Dean; Director, Doctor of Ministry Studies Program; Professor of Intercultural Studies
B.S., Bartlesville Wesleyan College
M.A., Azusa Pacific University
Ph.D., Fuller Theological Seminary
Read more about Dr. Hawkins


Gilbert Lozano, professor

Gilbert Lozano
Associate Professor of Biblical Studies
B.Th., Boa Terra Theological Institute
B.A., Warner Pacific College
M.Div., Iliff School of Theology
Ph.D., University of Denver/Iliff School of Theology
Read more about Dr. Lozano


Kimberly Majeski, professor

Kimberly S. Majeski
Associate Professor of Biblical Studies
B.A., Cumberland University
M.Div., D.Min., Anderson University School of Theology
Read more about Dr. Majeski



Gregory Robertson, professor

Gregory A. Robertson
Associate Professor of Christian Theology
B.A., Gulf Coast Bible College
M.Div. Southwestern Baptist Theological Seminary
Th.M., Princeton Theological Seminary
Th.D., Wycliffe College, University of Toronto
Read more about Dr. Robertson


Associate Faculty

Fredrick K. Shively, professor

Fredrick K. Shively
Professor Emeritus of Religion
B.A., Anderson University
M.Div., D.Min., Fuller Theological Seminary
Read more about Dr. Shively



Merle D. Strege, professor

Merle D. Strege
Professor of Historical Theology
B.A., Anderson University
M.Div., Anderson University School of Theology
Th.D., Graduate Theological Union
Read more about Dr. Strege


Adjunct Faculty

Robert D. Branson, adjunct professor

Robert D. Branson, Ph.D.
Biblical Studies
Read more about Dr. Branson




Glendon K. Cox, pastoral care and counseling

Glendon K. Cox, D.Min.
Pastoral Care and Counseling





Administrative Staff

Kristen Caylor, administrative assistantKristen Caylor
Administrative Assistant to the Dean
Read more about Kristen Caylor




David L. Neidert, director of admissions and enrollment coordinator

David L. Neidert
Director of Admissions and Enrollment Coordinator
Read more about David Neidert




Nichele Washington, administrative assistant

Nichele Washington
Administrative Assistant to the Associate Dean,
Faculty, and Director of the D.Min. Program

Read more about Nichele Washington



Emeritus Faculty

John H. Aukerman, Ed.D.
Professor Emeritus of Christian Education since 2016

Barry L. Callen, D. Rel., Ed.D.
University Professor Emeritus of Christian Studies since 2005

James L. Edwards, Ph.D.
President Emeritus since 2015

Walter Froese, Ph.D.
Professor Emeritus of Church History since 2007

Dwight L. Grubbs, D.Min.
Professor Emeritus of Applied Theology since 1995

Jerry C. Grubbs, Ed.D.
Professor Emeritus of Christian Education since 2001

Kenneth F. Hall, D.Min.
Professor Emeritus of Christian Education since 1992

Juanita Evans Leonard, Ph.D.
Professor Emerita of Christian Mission since 2006

James Earl Massey, D.Div., D.D., Hum.D., Litt.D.
Dean Emeritus and Distinguished Professor-at-Large since 1995

Robert A. Nicholson, Ph.D., L.H.D., L.L.D.
President Emeritus since 1990

David L. Sebastian, D.Min.
Dean Emeritus of School of Theology since 2014

Theodore A. Stoneberg, Ph.D.
Professor Emeritus of Pastoral Care since 2006

Douglas E. Welch
Professor Emeritus of Christian Mission since 1999