2008 John A. Morrison award recipients announced

Fri, 2008-09-05 14:09 -- univcomm
September 5, 2008

The John A. Morrison faculty award recipient, Dr. Dale Bales, was announced at the annual May luncheon before Bales retirement started while Jan Schmidt was presented the Morrison staff award at the opening session in August. The John A. Morrison award recognizes service to Anderson University as exemplified by Dr. Morrison, the University’s first president. Dr. Morrison had a vision for Christian higher education and gave his time and energy to creating the foundation of what is now Anderson University.

Dr. Dale Bales of the department of chemistry and physics was the eighth person at Anderson University to receive the John A. Morrison faculty award this past year. Bales first joined the faculty of AU in 1976, left for a brief time in the early 1980’s, but returned in 1987 to stay. He has served the institution for 28 years.

Chad Wallace, now chair of the department of chemistry and physics taking over the title from Bales, indicates the following: "I had the great opportunity to know Dale Bales at two different times in my life. The first was when I was a chemistry undergraduate student attending here. ‘Dr. Bales’, as I knew him then, was my teacher, adviser, and mentor. I saw a man of great knowledge, insight, wisdom, and humility. He epitomized to me the perfect blend of scientist and committed Christian.

In fact, for all of these years I have known him, he has almost always been a pastor of some local congregation while excelling in his duties at AU. He so inspired me, that I knew I wanted to attend graduate school so I might one day come back to my alma mater and hope to influence students' lives a fraction of what he did."

The recipient of the John A. Morrison staff award has served in various capacities in her lengthy tenure of 34 years with the university. She has been a student, taught classes, and is currently a staff member serving as Manager of Student Technology Services and Group Coordinator for Information Technology Services.

In her most recent assignment, Jan Schmidt, along with her colleagues in the ITS department, has been an integral part of equipping our campus with up-to-date technologies and training us in their use. Schmidt has also committed significant time to leading a number of Tri-S service trips around the world (including Calcutta, India, Grand Cayman and London) where she has developed powerful and meaningful relationships with students and those they served.

The Morrison award is designed to recognize faculty and staff who go beyond excellence in performance and have demonstrated a commitment to something larger than self. Each year, one staff and one faculty member will be selected from those nominated by the faculty and staff and announced at the annual Recognition Luncheon. Nominees for the Morrison Award should demonstrate a commitment to the university’s mission and core values.

—Stefanie Leiter is Web Content Manager at Anderson University.

Anderson University is a private Christian university of 2,700 undergraduate and graduate students in central Indiana. Anderson continues to be recognized as a top Christian college: in 2008, U.S. News and World Report ranked Anderson University among the best colleges and universities in the Midwest for the fourth consecutive year. Established in 1917 by the Church of God, Anderson University offers more than 65 undergraduate majors and graduate programs in business, education, music, nursing and theology.