Falls School of Business

FSB Mission & History

Three deans of FSBThe mission of the Falls School of Business is to create an environment that will enable and encourage our graduates to be professionally competent, ethically sensitive and informed by the Christian ideal of servanthood.

This mission is realized through a commitment to teaching excellence and genuine concern for each individual student, and is supported by a faculty commitment to continuous professional development and service to the community.

We also have big aspirations.

The vision of the Falls School of Business is to be known as the premier business school within the Council for Christian Colleges and Universities and to be recognized as a distinctive school of business within all of higher education. 


The Falls School of Business had its inception in the 1942-43 school year, when Dr. Harold Linamen and Dr. Glenn Falls [pictured right with FSB Dean, Dr. Terry Truitt] joined the department and jointly provided strong leadership, excellent teaching, and stability until they retired in 1987. 

AU made a commitment to being a premier business program under the leadership of Dr. Kenneth Armstrong, who served as dean of the school from 1990 through the mid-2000s. The results of this commitment have shaped the direction and growth that continues today under the leadership of Dr. Terry Truitt.

  • 1992  The School of Business is formed.
  • 1992  MBA program is inaugurated. (The first graduate program outside of the School of Theology at Anderson University.)
  • 1994  Anderson University becomes the first Council for Christian Colleges and Universities (CCCU) institution to earn national business accreditation with Accreditation Council for Business Schools and Programs (ACBSP).
  • 1995  MBA program also receives ACBSP accreditation.
  • 1995  The School of Business launches the MBA program in Indianapolis.
  • 1997  Corporate Partnership MBA Program starts in Indianapolis.
  • 2001  School of Business moves into new facilities in Hardacre Hall. School of Business becomes the R. Glenn Falls School of Business.
  • 2001  Doctor of Business Administration, aimed at individuals teaching business in college and university settings, is launched. 
  • 2003  Reaffirmation of ACBSP accreditation through the year 2013. 
  • 2004  Ranked in Business Reform magazine as #1 undergraduate business school. 
  • 2004  Dr. Terry Truitt becomes the new dean of the Falls School of Business
  • 2005  Ranked in Business Reform magazine as #1 undergraduate business school for the second year.
  • 2006  Flagship Enterprise Center opens, giving students direct access to business start-ups in Indiana.
  • 2007  Residential MBA program starts in the new $7 million Anderson University Flagship Center.
  • 2008  MBA Concentrations are added to the Professional MBA, allowing students to focus their education.
  • 2011  Star Financial Bank Trading Room opens
  • 2013  Falls School of Business receives full-affirmation of ACBSP accreditation through 2023 and the Doctorate of Business Administration receives accreditation
  • 2014  New major in Entertainment and Music Business is launched
  • 2014  MBA site in Center Grove and Speedway opens
  • 2015  Excel Certification program added for all Falls School of Business students
  • 2015  Emphasis in Personal Branding/Story is created (including StrengthsFinder coaching) for all Falls School of Business students
  • 2016  New major in Sport Marketing is added to program
  • 2016  100thDBA student completes their doctorate in the Falls School of Business
  • 2016  MBA program launches an all-online option